Pochettino playing out of position

Discussion in 'Tottenham forum' started by Josh Bolton, November 25, 2014.

Share This Page

1. Josh Bolton

Josh Bolton Active Member

Twitter:
    JMRBolton3
    Ben Pearce’s article on the Tottenham & Wood Green Journal is doing the rounds on the social media sites and is causing a bit of a stir.

Whether Pochettino’s comments, in the article, have been taken out of context remains to be seen, but the general consensus is that he sees himself as the ‘head coach’ of Spurs and not the ‘manager’, and that he feels there is a stark difference between the two.

Right said Poch

So what did Pochettino say in his press conference? Here are his words: “They [the players] don’t have a manager, they have a head coach. I am a head coach.

I think it’s very different. If you are the manager, you decide many things about the club. But if you are a head coach, your responsibility is to play better and try to improve the players and to get positive results.

The head coach is not the same as the manager. If not, why am I not [called] the manager? I am the head coach. In Southampton, I was a manager. My responsibility was not only to coach the team. Here I am a head coach - a head coach is head of your department. My department is to train the team.”

Reading between the lines

It’s fair to say that Pochettino has a valid point at the basis of this discussion, and it adds to the every-growing debate as to what is the difference between head coach and manager as a technicality.

The imminent arrival of Paul Mitchell could serve as the spark for these comments, as Pochettino will see a restructuring of recruiting players at the club, allowing him to spend more time on the training ground. But the nature of these comments seems to go deeper.

Board are to blame

Pochettino links the role of head coach with one that solely trains and improves players, but that at Southampton he was indeed the manager.